Drunkard's Walk Forums

Full Version: Need some opinions for a gaming computer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I bought a decent gaming computer 4 years ago and it has been working fine until it started crashing repeatedly about for the last 4 months when I play World of Warships. I narrowed it down to the memory requirements, but I have a motherboard that only accepts 8 gig of ram max. I am not a computer techie, so doing it myself is a non starter for me. And the old shop I go to for upgrades is in the other side of the country. I have 2 options:

1) Find a reputable place that can do the installation
2) Just buy a whole new system and figure out what to do with the old one.

Any opinions?
And the devil will burn!
- Scarlett Pimpernell
4 years has seen enough of an advance in state of the rat that you're probably best off going with the new system and relegating that one to home office status. It'll make mincemeat of any office application, and will probably handle even 3d development quite well for a few years more.
Hear that thunder rolling till it seems to split the sky?
That's every ship in Grayson's Navy taking up the cry-

NO QUARTER!!!
-- "No Quarter", by Echo's Children
Find out what you are willing to pay first, then determine what you are able to pay. If what you are able to pay is less than what you are willing to pay, accept that you aren't going to be playing World of Warships and don't even start with replacing anything, it's not worth it.

Second thing is to ask yourself 'do I accept that if I let another motherboard be installed I basically will have to start from scratch again anyway, even if it's cheaper?' Because operating systems generally really don't like it when motherboards are changed.
Quote:Hazard wrote: