Drunkard's Walk Forums

Full Version: Kaleido Star -- Grrrrrrrr
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Okay, Peggy and I are about 12 episodes into the second season of Kaleido Star, and I find myself growing more and
more annoyed. As some folks here know, I have some theatre background -- three years'-plus of near-professional level backstage/crew/writer experience
with the Princeton Triangle Club, for those interested. And while I don't have any direct backstage experience with circuses, I do know a few things about
how they operate. And the combination of all this makes me want to scream when I watch what they've been doing on Kaleido Star in the second season. They're all freaking lunatics, and Sora is just
going "oh, okay" and doing what they tell her to do.

Am I missing something cultural here? (Or is it just massive ignorance on the writers' parts?) Because I simply cannot believe what I'm seeing. Half
the stunts these people pull should get them shut down for safety violations -- and Sora ought to beat the crap out of them for the other half. (Yes, I know,
not her personality. But I'm sooooo tempted to send Doug there to do the crap-beating for her.) The stuff they
get away with as if it were "normal" is frankly criminal, and my suspension of disbelief is pretty much shredded.
-- Bob
---------
Then the horns kicked in...
...and my shoes began to squeak.
Eh. Yes, they are insane. So is Sora. *grin* What? The training for the Legendary Act in the first season wasn't clue enough? Actually, Sora is probably
the most insane and determined person in the series.

The writers had an actual circus... I'm not sure if it was a performer or director or just in general ... helping them out. Part of it is the animation
company going OH THIS IS COOL and now let's animate it beautifully. It is supposed to be, um, insane and just a bit beyond actual human limits although not