Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Forum Upgrade
Forum Upgrade
Why are we doing upgrades? What's wrong with using hopelessly out of date software, like EPU does?

Actually, there is an update for the EPU boards, released something like 20 years ago.  I'm a professional Perl programmer, and that DCForum software I tracked down is scary, man.
"Kitto daijoubu da yo." - Sakura Kinomoto
RE: Forum Upgrade
Taking the facetious question seriously for a moment, there's something like 60 or 70 individual issues fixed in the upgrade, including a goodly handful of security issues.

I haven't gone through the entire list yet, but with luck a couple things on my To-Do list might be resolved for me.
-- Bob

I have been Roland, Beowulf, Achilles, Gilgamesh, Clark Kent, Mary Sue, DJ Croft, Skysaber.  I have been 
called a hundred names and will be called a thousand more before the sun grows dim and cold....
The problem with the EPU forums is that no one is quite sure how to transfer it to anyone else's database, so and we don't want to go losing everything in it.

The question becomes what to go with, then get a network blacksmith to forge a convertor, which is going to be problematic in the short run.
As a professional programmer, I'm not really sure what a "network blacksmith" is, but like, this is a programmer job, not a sysadmin one. I've done a few conversions between software formats before, and I'd be happy to do it for EPU. Heck, this time would be easy, because I'd have access to the original software and access to the raw data. And I'd get to entirely skip the step where I try to hide my bot from the Powers That Be.

Browsing but not yet running the DCForum code, it looks like the "database" is just pipe-delimited flat files? I can't imagine why threads break. Er, I meant to say: that sounds easy to parse.
"Kitto daijoubu da yo." - Sakura Kinomoto