Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Webpage Prototype
Webpage Prototype
Yes, I've been a busy little developer these last couple days. This link will take you to a prototype page for the Fenspace archive. It has the rotating banners discussed in another thread (and I'll be adding more, don't you worry). The menu is functional although it doesn't link to any other Fenspace pages yet -- it's also just an eval, which is why the company that makes it forces itself into the first entry. I'm still looking for something that does just what I want it to, and this may not be it -- it's just a placeholder for the moment.
Anyway, there's enough there for folks to get an idea of what I had in mind, and to kibitz on the design. So... go look, and come back to kibitz.

-- Bob
---------
The Internet Is For Norns.
Re: Webpage Prototype
Hm. Nice & simple enough design. The menubar's okay, though the whole eval thing is kind of annoying. A quick glance at google suggests there aren't any good prepackaged freeware menubars. This bit at BrainJar is a pretty good tutorial for writing a basic one from scratch, though.---
Mr. Fnord
http://fnord.sandwich.net/
http://www.jihad.net/
Mr. Fnord interdimensional man of mystery

FenWiki - Your One-Stop Shop for Fenspace Information

"I. Drink. Your. NERDRAGE!"
I hate the menubar sufficiently that I will write a replacement.
Edit: try this example. Not quite happy with it, but it's better than what is currently in use. Haven't tested it with IE, if it breaks tell me I know how to fix it.
itu.dk/~dwalter/fenspace/page.html
As for good free menubars try:
onlinetools.org/tools/yadm/index.html
or if you are a CSS purits:
www.pixy.cz/blogg/clanky/csshiermenu/
And if you want a simple one:
phoenity.com/newtedge/horizontal_nav/
The last one is the one I recomend if you want to mess around with it a bit on your own bob. And if you need help I am available.