Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anybody want to help edit a wiki?
Anybody want to help edit a wiki?
I know that some of the posters here user Poser or Daz Studio. I know that some of the posters here edit wikis. How big is the overlap between the two groups?

I think I've mentioned that I'm an admin on the Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki. That wiki is intended to be a resource site that describes free resources for Poser and Daz Studio. At the moment, it's more of an index of free resources for Poser and Daz Studio.

Right now, most of the wiki's index pages have listings of the form
Quote:;Free Item
:http://example.com

What we want is listings of the form
Quote:* [[Free Item]
with the page for Free Item listing the URL, the name of the item's creator, the license terms, the prerequisites (if any), and a description of the item. Oh, and a render or two. Not only do the index pages look more professional this way, but the pages for the individual free items can be searched either by Google or by looking through the page categories.

Here's an example of what I think the index pages should look like - entries are sorted into groups, and each entry has its own wiki page.

Here's an example of what most index pages actually look like (except that this one is longer than most) - entries are sorted alphabetically, and more of them are simply bare URLs than are links to wiki pages.