Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Story][Season 0] Project Stargazer
[Story][Season 0] Project Stargazer
Cleaned up version of the story I posted as RFC some time ago on the fenspace main forum.

January 1st, 2010, just after midnight

It’s New Year's Day.

I am starting this diary because I want to document my New Year's pledge. If you are reading this diary without my knowledge, please tell the guys from TrueCrypt that their software stinks!

I have been sitting on my ass for the last two years, looking up into the sky watching the stars while the rest of the world was going mad... and up into space. Astronomy and space flight has been always a hobby of mine, and maybe that is the reason why I am still here back on Earth. I know it's cold out there, or very hot in direct sunlight. There is no air to breath, no water to drink and nothing to eat, just a few hostile planets and stars shining in the endless night. How could someone with a small car or a truck survive there for more than a few months ? They should have been all dead by now.

But they are not, and the governments back home on Earth are just going crazy instead of embracing this new era... a bunch of Trekkies is building a base on MARS and the ESA is still using chemical rockets, what the hell is wrong with all of them ? I think the politicians just fear it... it's not NASA with billions of dollars anymore that pushes the frontier, it's can be everyone. They fear to loose control, fear to become irrelevant.

I have been looking at this pot of strange gray liquid for two years without doing anything with it. Time to do something new this year.

January 2nd, 2010

I heard that some of the Fen (as they call themselves) built their spacecrafts within days or weeks, but I don't think I can do it this way. I have to think things through before I do them, I am not a mad scientist in a web comic.