Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Your life depends on a very thin wire.
Your life depends on a very thin wire.
I have a degree in Engineering with a focus on Electrical Engineering or EE and while I have ended up being a farmer and part time or hobbie Tech I still try to keep up with all things electrical.
Well before I had my degree starting back in the 1980's I had started to worry about the United States power grid and it's lack of redundancy.
Since finally gaining my degree I have seen little to change my worry, but in the past 7 or 8 years I have seen decision made  that have greately increased my worry about the electrical grid.
The power grid is a critical non redundant life support system for roughly 90% of the people in the US and much of Canada.(In other words without it you have a roughly 90% chance of being dead a few months after the national power grid fails.)
The vulnerabilities that I am seeing hinted at or openly mentioned in engineering magazines, email news letters and in private conversations now place this well beyond being a minor worry.
First probably the most important thing you need to do is look around your home right now and think about how much water you have and how long it will last if there is no more water being supplied to you by the electric pumps.
After you have filled several bottles or jugs with water and set them aside please continue reading.
Have you filled those water bottles yet?
In the mid 80's and early 90's when I was working part time on an Engineering degree the electrical grid was sometiimes compared to a set of dominoes arranged in a circle all it took was one failing to start a cascade that had the potential to topple everything.
At the time causing a failure to cascade through the entire national network was relatively hard to cause, because their were controls that would cut off or cut out sections and that usually stopped the cascade of failures so only one or two of the dominoes would go down.